IN PRODUCTION: PARALLEL WORLDS. WHAT IS STILL REAL? Friday, 13 January 2023, ZDF aspekte

A “truth”, a “reality” has not existed for a long time. If there ever was one. Putin, vaccination deniers, Mark Zuckerberg and his Metaverse – since digitalisation, it’s easier than ever to build new worlds, find approval and confirmation for one’s own worldview and simply block out the rest. But what are the consequences for our lives when reality feels increasingly surreal? When one can no longer agree on and rely on truths, values and norms? What does this mean for togetherness in the global community? And can culture help us to successfully counter this development? Written and directed by Frauke Schlieckau. A Bottega Berlin production for ZDF aspekte. 43 min.

 

 

 

ON SCREEN: ALICE NEEL. FACES OF AMERICA: Wednesday, 16th November, 01.55 a.m.

With unusual psychological and artistic brilliance, Alice Neel (1900-1984) painted the most interesting subject she could imagine: People. Like many great artists of her time, she was mostly not very successful during her lifetime, and even after her death she was not duly recognized for a long time. Today she is one of the most important artists in America. For Neel’s entire oeuvre is an expression of the deepest humanity. In her paintings, the American captured souls and used socially relevant themes. But why did she paint portraits almost exclusively, and what made the genre so appealing? How did the American artist manage to capture people’s souls in her portraits? And what do Neel’s portraits and self-portraits reveal about the time in which she lived and about her own artistic soul? Written / directed by Frauke Schlieckau. A Lona Media production.

PRESS: “THE PAINTER ALICE NEEL. FACES OF AMERICA” IN THE MONOPOL ART FILMS WORTH WATCHING IN NOVEMBER

The art journal Monopol writes in its “11 Art Films Worth Watching in November” about Frauke Schlieckau’s documentary “The Painter Alice Neel. Faces of America”: “The film is a sensitive approach to a chronicler of her time and an appreciation of her (late-discovered) art.” You can find the full Monopol article, here.

The painter Alice Neel: Faces of America”, to be seen in the Arte Media Library, until 6 January 2023.

 

 

ON SCREEN: ALICE NEEL. FACES OF AMERICA: Sunday, 11/09, 4.51 p.m.

With unusual psychological and artistic brilliance, Alice Neel (1900-1984) painted the most interesting subject she could imagine: People. Like many great artists of her time, she was mostly not very successful during her lifetime, and even after her death she was not duly recognized for a long time. Today she is one of the most important artists in America. For Neel’s entire oeuvre is an expression of the deepest humanity. In her paintings, the American captured souls and used socially relevant themes. But why did she paint portraits almost exclusively, and what made the genre so appealing? How did the American artist manage to capture people’s souls in her portraits? And what do Neel’s portraits and self-portraits reveal about the time in which she lived and about her own artistic soul? Written / directed by Frauke Schlieckau. A Lona Media production.

 

ON SCREEN: RELOAD FOR THE ART WORLD. HOW ROBOTICS AND AI ARE CHANGING CREATIVITY. 10.09.2022, 7.10 p.m. 3Sat

Art is an expression of human experience, or so the conventional wisdom goes. But is this still true in the age of artificial intelligence, or can robots and algorithms also create works of art that touch us humans? Are the new technologies to be seen as an opportunity that expands and enriches the production of art, or rather as an approaching nightmare, because the machine threatens to replace man in the field of creativity as well? Written and directed by Frauke Schlieckau. A Lona Media production.

ON SCREEN: MUSIC OF THE FUTURE – HOW CLASSICAL MUSIC IS REINVENTING ITSELF. 21.08.2022, 7.10 p.m, 3Sat 

Opera and classical concerts are out. Audience numbers have been declining for years. Young audiences simply don’t want to hear anything more about classical music. It almost seems as if the industry has lost touch.  What must the industry do to successfully save classical music through the 21st century? And if so, how? Written and directed by Frauke Schlieckau. A Bottega Berlin production for Neue Zürcher Zeitung / SRF / 3Sat. 30 min

ON SCREEN: FORENSIC ARCHITECTURE. 13.06.2022, 7 p.m. 3sat Kulturzeit

“Would you take up arms for your country if the worst came to the worst?” For Maksym Rokmaniko, architect and founder of the Ukrainian Center for Spacial Technologies, this is no longer a theoretical question. He may have left his country, but he still fights for its liberation – with the tools and methods of architecture and forensics. Together with Eyal Weizman and the renowned research agency Forensic Architecture, he investigated the Russian attack on the TV tower in Kiev. Their goal: to counter Putin’s narrative with the truth. A production by Bottega Berlin Productions for ZDF aspekte/3Sat Kulturzeit.

ON SCREEN: MUSIC OF THE FUTURE – HOW CLASSICAL MUSIC IS REINVENTING ITSELF. 19.06.2022, 23.00, SRF

Opera and classical concerts are out. Audience numbers have been declining for years. Young audiences simply don’t want to hear anything more about classical music. It almost seems as if the industry has lost touch.  What must the industry do to successfully save classical music through the 21st century? And if so, how? Written and directed by Frauke Schlieckau. A Bottega Berlin production for Neue Zürcher Zeitung / SRF / 3Sat. 30 min

ON SCREEN THE END OF INDIVIDUALISM. DO WE NEED MORE PUBLIC SPIRIT AGAIN? 10.06.2022, 11 p.m. ZDF aspekte

The consequences of Corona, war, migration and climate change are unmistakable. Our society is in the midst of a process of active upheaval. ZDF aspekte asks: Do we have to limit our individuality in order to exist as a community? With Forensic Architecture, Oscar Murillo and Norbert Bisky. Written and directed by Frauke Schlieckau & Johannes Nichelmann. A production of Bottega Berlin Productions & Studio Jot.

Parallelwelten. Was ist noch real? Freitag, 13. Januar, ZDF aspekte

Eine „Wahrheit“, eine „Realität“ gibt es schon lange nicht mehr. Falls es sie überhaupt je gegeben hat. Putin, Impfverweigerer, Mark Zuckerberg und sein Metaverse – seit der Digitalisierung ist es einfach wie nie, neue Welten zu bauen, Zustimmung und Bestätigung für die eigene Weltsicht zu finden und den Rest einfach auszublenden. Doch welche Folgen hat es für unser Leben, wenn die Wirklichkeit sich zunehmend surreal anfühlt? Wenn man sich auf Wahrheiten, Werte und Normen nicht mehr einigen und verlassen kann? Was bedeutet das für das Miteinander in der Weltgemeinschaft? Und kann die Kultur uns dabei helfen, dieser Entwicklung erfolgreich entgegenzutreten? Buch und Regie: Frauke Schlieckau. Eine Bottega Berlin Produktion für ZDF aspekte. 43 Min.

DIE MALERIN ALICE NEEL. GESICHTER AMERIKAS. Mittwoch, 16.11.2022 01.55 Uhr

Mit ungewöhnlicher psychologischer und künstlerischer Brillanz malte Alice Neel (1900-1984) das interessanteste Motiv, das sie sich vorstellen konnte: Menschen. Wie viele große Künstlerinnen ihrer Zeit war sie zu Lebzeiten meist nur wenig erfolgreich, auch nach ihrem Tod wurde sie lange nicht gebührend anerkannt. Heute zählt sie zu den bedeutendsten Künstlerinnen Amerikas. Denn Neels Gesamtwerk ist ein Ausdruck tiefster Menschlichkeit. Auf ihren Bildern fing die Amerikanerin Seelen ein und nutzte gesellschaftlich relevante Themen. Weshalb aber malte sie quasi ausschließlich Porträts und was machte das Genre so reizvoll? Wie gelang es der Amerikanerin, die Seele der Menschen in den Porträts einzufangen? Und was verraten Neels Porträts und Selbstporträts über die Zeit in der sie lebte und über ihre eigene Künstlerinnenseele? Buch / Regie: Frauke Schlieckau. Eine Lona Media Produktion.

PRESS: „DIE MALERIN ALICE NEEL. GESICHTER AMERIKAS“ IN DEN MONOPOL KUNSTFILMEN, DIE SICH IM NOVEMBER LOHNEN

Die Kunstzeitschrift Monopol schreibt in ihren „11 Kunstfilme, die sich im November lohnen“ über Frauke Schlieckau Doku „Die Malerin Alice Neel. Gesichter Amerikas“: „Der Film ist eine einfühlsame Annäherung an eine Chronistin ihrer Zeit und eine Würdigung ihrer (spät entdeckten) Kunst.“ Zum ganzen Monopol-Artikel geht es hier.

Die Malerin Alice Neel: Gesichter Amerikas“, zu sehen in der Arte-Mediathek, bis 6. Januar 2023

ON SCREEN: DIE MALERIN Alice Neel. GESICHTER AMERIKAS. Sonntag, 9.10.2022, 16.50 Uhr

Mit ungewöhnlicher psychologischer und künstlerischer Brillanz malte Alice Neel (1900-1984) das interessanteste Motiv, das sie sich vorstellen konnte: Menschen. Wie viele große Künstlerinnen ihrer Zeit war sie zu Lebzeiten meist nur wenig erfolgreich, auch nach ihrem Tod wurde sie lange nicht gebührend anerkannt. Heute zählt sie zu den bedeutendsten Künstlerinnen Amerikas. Denn Neels Gesamtwerk ist ein Ausdruck tiefster Menschlichkeit. Auf ihren Bildern fing die Amerikanerin Seelen ein und nutzte gesellschaftlich relevante Themen. Weshalb aber malte sie quasi ausschließlich Porträts und was machte das Genre so reizvoll? Wie gelang es der Amerikanerin, die Seele der Menschen in den Porträts einzufangen? Und was verraten Neels Porträts und Selbstporträts über die Zeit in der sie lebte und über ihre eigene Künstlerinnenseele? Buch / Regie: Frauke Schlieckau. Eine Lona Media Produktion.

ON SCREEN: RELOAD FÜR DIE KUNSTWELT. WIE KI UND ROBOTIK DIE KREATIVITÄT VERÄNDERN. 10.09.2022, 3Sat

 Kunst ist ein Ausdruck menschlichen Erlebens, so die gängige Meinung. Doch stimmt sie noch im Zeitalter von künstlicher Intelligenz, oder können genauso auch Roboter und Algorithmen Kunstwerke erschaffen, die uns Menschen berühren? Sind die Neuen Technologien als Chance zu sehen, die die Kunstproduktion erweitert und bereichert, oder eher als herannahender Alptraum, weil die Maschine den Menschen auch im Bereich der Kreativität zu ersetzen droht. Buch und Regie: Frauke Schlieckau. Eine Lona Media Produktion. 

ON SCREEN: ZUKUNFTSMUSIK. WIE DIE KLASSIK SICH NEU ERFINDET. 21.08.2022, 19.10 Uhr, 3Sat 

„Zukunftsmusik. Wie die Klassik sich neu erfindet“. Oper und klassische Konzerte sind out. Die Zuschauerzahlen sind seit Jahren rückgängig. Das junge Publikum will von klassischer Musik einfach nichts mehr wissen. Fast scheint es als hätte die Branche den Anschluss verloren.  Was muss die Branche tun,  um die Klassik erfolgreich durchs 21. Jahrhundert zu retten? Und wenn ja, wie? Buch und Regie: Frauke Schlieckau. Eine Produktion von Bottega Berlin Productions. 3Sat. 30 Min.

ON SCREEN: GEKLAUTE JUGEND. KANN MAN VERLORENE ZEIT AUFHOLEN? 12.08.2022, 23.00 Uhr, ZDF aspekte

„Geklaute Jugend. Kann man verlorene Zeit aufholen?“ Die Generation Z sieht angesichts aktueller Krisen ihre Zukunft zerfließen. Was bedeutet es, seine Jugend zu verlieren? aspekte fragt: Wie ergeht es Menschen, denen die wichtigsten Jahre des Erwachsenwerdens abhanden kommen? Buch und Regie:  Frauke Schlieckau und Johannes Nichelmann. Eine Produktion von Bottega Berlin Productions und Studio Jot. 44 Min.

ON SCREEN: FORENSIC ARCHITECTURE. 13.06.2022, 19.00 3Sat Kulturzeit 

„Würdest Du im Fall der Fälle für Dein Land zur Waffe greifen?“ Für den Architekten und Gründer des ukrainischen Center for Spacial Technologies Maksym Rokmaniko, ist das längst keine theoretische Frage mehr. Sein Land hat er zwar verlassen aber er kämpft trotzdem für dessen Befreiung – mit den Werkzeugen und Methoden der Architektur und der Forensik. Gemeinsam mit Eyal Weizman und der renommierten Rechercheagentur Forensic Architecture hat er den russischen Angriff auf den Fernsehturm in Kiew untersucht. Ihr Ziel: Putins Narrative die Wahrheit entgegensetzen. Eine Produktion von Bottega Berlin Productions für ZDF aspekte/3Sat Kulturzeit.

ON SCREEN: DAS ENDE DER INDIVIDUALITÄT. KEHRT DER GEMEINSINN ZURÜCK? 10.06.2022, 23.00 ZDF aspekte

Corona, Krieg und Klimawandel – wir befinden uns in einem Zeitalter der Risiken. Nur nur als Gemeinschaft können wir dem etwas entgegen setzen. Muss sich jeder Einzelne von uns künftig einschränken? aspekte fragt: Können wir Individualismus neu lernen? Buch und Regie:  Johannes Nichelmann und Frauke Schlieckau. Eine Produktion von Bottega Berlin Productions und Studio Jot. 44 Min. 

ON SCREEN: ZUKUNFTSMUSIK – WIE DIE KLASSIK SICH NEUE ERFINDET. 19.06.2022, 23.00 Uhr, SRF

Oper und klassische Konzerte sind out. Die Zuschauerzahlen sind seit Jahren rückgängig. Das junge Publikum will von klassischer Musik einfach nichts mehr wissen. Fast scheint es als hätte die Branche den Anschluss verloren.  Was muss die Branche tun,  um die Klassik erfolgreich durchs 21. Jahrhundert zu retten? Und wenn ja, wie? Buch und Regie: Frauke Schlieckau. Eine Bottega Berlin Produktion für die Neue Zürcher Zeitung / SRF / 3Sat. 30 Min.